Chancellor's Diversity Scholar Award

IUPUI's mission, vision, and values statement articulates the university's ongoing commitment to understanding and appreciating diversity, both within and beyond our society. It is with this commitment that the Chancellor's Diversity Scholar Award honors a faculty member who creates, maintains, and demonstrates to the campus and larger community the ability to infuse a common thread of diversity in his or her scholarship and service. The Office of the Chancellor and the Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion invite nominations to recognize an outstanding faculty member who exemplifies the value of diversity in his or her scholarship and service and maintains a record of high accomplishment and leadership. A cash award of $3,000 will be given to a full-time tenured or tenure-track faculty member.

ELIGIBILITY:  Any full-time tenured or tenure-track faculty member who champions domestic and/or international diversity can be nominated. Self-nomination is not permitted. Preference will be given to faculty members with at least five years or more of diversity impact at IUPUI or with a history of diversity scholarship and service prior to employment at IUPUI. Candidates are eligible to be considered for three successive years. Candidates who elect to resubmit are encouraged to update their submissions. Past award winners are not eligible to reapply.

CRITERIA:  Faculty members nominated for this award would exemplify a high standard of scholarship and service that impact diversity. The work should be considered outstanding and worthy of recognition because of its campus, local community, and/or global impact. Strong candidates will have demonstrated excellence in diversity and equity related to research, professional service, civic engagement, and overall impact on campus climate.

PROCESS: Any member of the campus community may serve as a nominator. Nominations prepared jointly by faculty and students are encouraged. Complete the electronic nomination form below and upload the required documentation. For more information, please see the complete guidelines.

Nominations received by 5 p.m. on Tuesday, January 16, 2018, will be considered for recognition at the Chancellor's Academic Honors Convocation on Friday, April 20, 2018, at 3 p.m. in the Hine Hall Auditorium. Please verify that your candidate meets all eligibility requirements and that you have access to all relevant information before submitting your nomination.

SELECTION:  The Chancellor has the right to select members of the review committee which shall include past winners of this award, a representative of the Multicultural Pedagogy Research Group, a representative from International Affairs, a Chancellor's Professor, a Glenn W. Irwin, Jr., M.D., Experience Excellence Award recipient, and a Glenn W. Irwin, Jr., M.D., Research Scholar.

Click here to view previous recipients.  For printable version of guidelines, click here.

QUESTIONS:   Contact Jessica Wootten, Academic Affairs Coordinator (ude[dot]ui[at]nettoowj or 317-278-6090).

Click here to start the nomination process