Glenn W. Irwin, Jr., M.D. Research Scholar Award

The Glenn W. Irwin, Jr., M.D. Research Scholar Award is IUPUI's highest recognition of outstanding continuing research by a colleague. The award recognizes the outstanding achievements of Dr. Glenn W. Irwin, Jr., as professor, dean of the School of Medicine, chancellor of the Indianapolis campus, and vice president of Indiana University. The recipient is expected to represent a sufficiently high level of achievement in research, scholarship, or creative activity to stand as a visible representative of excellence for the entire campus. The $5,000 award is given to one individual annually and is added to his or her base salary.

ELIGIBILITY:  Open to all IUPUI and IUPUC faculty of any rank, including the regional medical centers.

CRITERIA:  Candidates should have a sustained record of research, successful grant writing, and an impact on their field of study.  A national or international reputation is assumed as a prerequisite for award candidates.

PROCESS:  Deans, chairs, or colleagues may nominate candidates.  Complete the electronic nomination form below and upload the required documentation.  (For more information, please see the complete guidelines.)

Nominations received by 5 p.m. on Tuesday, January 16, 2018, will be considered for recognition at the Chancellor's Academic Honors Convocation on Friday, April 20, 2018, at 3 p.m. in the Hine Hall Auditorium.  Please verify that your candidate meets all eligibility requirements and that you have access to all relevant information before submitting your nomination.

SELECTION:  The review committee will be comprised of past winners of this award and individuals appointed by the Chancellor.

Click here to view previous recipients. For printable version of guidelines, click here.

QUESTIONS:  Contact Jessica Wootten, Academic Affairs Coordinator (ude[dot]ui[at]nettoowj or 317-278-6090).

Click here to start the nomination process